Ben

20 08 2007

Every now and then I’ll realize just how little I mention Benjamin in this blog. Of course, Karen talks about Ben all the time in her blog. I try to keep things here lighthearted and funny, if not a bit cynical. It’s impossible for me to be cynical about Ben, and he’s not doing anything particularly funny yet, so he tends to get passed over in my posts. I suppose that as he gets older and gets into mischief this blog may turn into my misadventures with him.

But then about a month a go (maybe more) Daddyforever tagged me for a meme, or something like that. He changed the rules so I don’t really know if it counts as “tagging,” but I took it as a kick in the butt to talk about Ben again.

Ben is a very interesting individual. Every night he peaks at about 11pm, entering into his happiest mood of the day. Maybe he’ll enjoy the club scene when he gets older. He does, however, go to sleep as soon as we turn out the lights. I hope that continues, or my love affair with coffee will grow even stronger.

Okay, so Ben weighs a little over 13 pounds, and for that weight he’s in size 3 diapers and 6-9 month clothes. That’s unusual. It’s because he’s shorter than normal, so he’s a bit on the chunky side. I can’t say that he’s chubby, because all references to weight in our house are tempered by Jonathan, who weighed 27 pounds at six months.

Ben at the Doctor’s office

Ben is enjoying his physical therapy sessions a lot these days. After 16 months he’s getting tired of being horizontal, so he’s very interested in sitting up and standing, all of which we practice during PT.

Ben standing next to his saucer

Occupational therapy is going well too. We’re focusing on feeding him by mouth, and we’re still giving him little tastes of food at a time. Sometimes he’s not in the mood for this and complains at first, but his OT is very patient and positive, and he always comes around for her. If only she could stop by every day…

Ben is playing and happy

He’s also playing with toys a lot these days. He likes grabbing toys, not just mashing them with his hand. Yes, Dawn, he really likes that singing bunch of flowers you gave him. I’ve often heard that children with special needs love music, and that is certainly the case with Ben. Finally someone who will appreciate my guitar playing. Isaac has been learning music from the Zelda video games on the piano, and Ben loves listening to all that. And one morning I was playing one of those baby CD’s for him and he wasn’t too enthused about it, but he quieted right down when I switched it to Green Day. Maybe next I’ll try Jackyll…

So that’s another post about Ben. I’m going to try to incorporate him more into my regular posts, but I’ll probably end up ruining that too…

Actions

Information

7 responses

20 08 2007
domanico

Ben’s such a cutie!

20 08 2007
Daddy Forever

It’s nice the boys get along and love their little brother. I didn’t really tag you. Actually, I don’t people anymore. It’s hard to tell who likes to be tagged and who don’t.

21 08 2007
dennis

Ben is happiest at 11 p.m.??

Good lord, but your going to be really enjoying coffee when he becomes mobile!!

Of course by the time girl.imp was 2, she was a big Letterman fan (and yes, I currently drink coffee by the bucketful).

21 08 2007
Bennie

I just adore that boy! His right hand may not be formed correctly but I always get the impression that Ben’s always giving the thumbs up. Jackyl? Has my secret past found you too?

21 08 2007
kimmyk

I came to say hello to ya. Found ya through Ben and Bennie’s blog.
Your Ben is quite handsome. I love when kids are at that fat and chunky stage…not that your Ben is fat and chunky but he looks “soft” like..well…do you know what I’m talkin bout here? Really I’m not always verbally challenged…just today.

Anyways, nice to meetcha.

21 08 2007
sharon millar

Ben looks so happy. In every picture, he has this contented, interested expression on his face. And the liking music part, I’m sure the Trini genes are kicking in with that :). Heaven help you if he really is a night owl. My daughter is 10 and I’m yet to outwait her. She is ALWAYS less tired than me. Give that cutie little boy a big hug all the way from Trinidad.
Sharon

21 08 2007
Lara

Hi Mark… you do not know me but I just wanted to say that I think your blog is truly entertaining. I am a high school friend of Karen’s and we got in touch with each other about two years ago when I was suggesting a high school reunion…never did happen.

Ben is such an adorable boy and so are your other boys. Through all the challenges, I am truly impressed by the way your family enjoys all the little things in life…like dinner!

Both you and Karen have inspired me to think about starting a blog of my own…like the two of you… I am a foodie too! Hopefully my site will be half as entertaining as yours!!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

