Waiting for my book deal

20 05 2012

How is it that my blog never got picked for a book deal or movie rights?  Oh yeah, because nobody reads it.  Their loss, this stuff is hysterical.  I was going to send this story in an email to my sister but it’s so awesome I’ve got to tell everybody.

The CSA started  back up a couple weeks ago and we’ve got turnips.  Not a whole lot, but there’s turnips.  Honestly I don’t know what to do with turnips at all, so I went hunting.  I found a few interesting recipes on Cooking Light, so I chose this one:

Turnip-Parsnip Gratin

We had no parsnips, so Karen went to the store and bought the sorriest looking parsnips I’ve ever seen.  You make do with what you’ve got, right?  So Sunday comes and it’s time for some barbecue.  We’re going to make some steaks, some chicken thighs, potatoes, and the gratin.  While the coals are heating up I get out the turnips and parsnips and begin peeling them.  Karen asks “What should I use to slice the veggies?”  and my answer should have been THE KNIFE.  But the recipe says to use the mandoline, and we’ve got a mandoline, and we haven’t used the mandoline for several years so I say “Use the Mandoline.”

What happens when someone uses a mandoline for the first time in three years?  They go to the emergency room, that’s what.  Almost immediately Karen slices off a large part of her thumb.  It’s still attached, but she needs stitches.  She needs to drive herself so I can stay home with the kids, reassuring them that Mommy’s okay.    So she goes into the bathroom to rinse her hand and get ready to go.  In the meantime I grab the parsnips and say to myself “I’ll finish the job, but I’ll be careful.  Not like Karen.”  Almost immediately I slice off a piece of the palm of my hand.  You know, the meaty part by your thumb?  Yeah, sliced it right off, no flap or anything.  I grab the towel recently put down by Karen and apply pressure.  It’s not bleeding too bad, unless I, you know, release the pressure.

At this point Karen comes out of the bathroom and sees me sitting there with a sheepish look on my face.  I show her the wound.  There is nothing to stitch; mine sliced clean off.  So Karen goes to the ER.  I have the presence of mind to tell her not to drive the new car, so she doesn’t drip blood all over it. From my first aid training and I know that you’re supposed to apply pressure to a wound to stop bleeding.  So I grab a rag and a ace bandage and wrap my thumb/hand/wrist as tight as I can and still move my fingers.

While Karen is gone I finish the gratin; it’s already cost us a pound of flesh, I’m making it for dinner dammit.  The potatoes were already in the oven and the coals were hot by this point so I put the steaks on the grill and finished making the gratin.  For the kids I ordered a pizza.  Karen came home with a very professional looking bandage.  Mine, not so much.

Karen told me “The doctor poked the flap with a needle to see if it was still viable.”  After several convulsions I asked her WHY DID YOU TELL ME THAT?

The gratin was excellent.  In case you’re wondering (and I know you are) we used fontanella cheese.

 

Actions

Information

5 responses

21 05 2012
Dawn

Oh my god, that is the FUNNIEST thing I think I have ever heard. Serves you right, you know-it-all! AND, I know what I’m getting you for Christmas – a Pampered Chef mandolin – they have a safety guard to ensure that you CAN’T slice off any part of your body. And, our CSA starts in a couple of weeks – I’ll need tha turnip recipe. :-)

21 05 2012
mark - in my own defense

Throw in one of those safety gloves that you can’t cut through and you’ve got a deal. Someone at work has already told Karen he’d take the mandoline off our hands, so we’ll probably not have one after tomorrow. Don’t worry, he’s ex-military so he knows proper safety measures for handling lethal weapons.

21 05 2012
Tammy

Everyone has done it but sorry it happened to you. The gratin looks great and I do have a ton of turnips right now.

21 05 2012
mark - in my own defense

Thanks, Tammy. It wasn’t so bad after all. I used my injury to get me out of any kind of housework for the whole next day. Karen had to go to work, though.

21 05 2012
Tammy From Trinidad :-P

Strongly recommend mandoline with safety guard as suggested by Dawn! I always use mandoline and I have been using it since tiny little girl and it was always drilled through my thick skull that there is a reason for safety guard!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

