Hello world!

31 01 2007

My first post ever and let me tell you, this is going to be one entertaining blog.  Reading my exploits in the kitchen will make you feel very good about yourself, and confident that you are a better cook than me.  Case in point:

I’m making soup.  Soup is easy.  Soup is pretty forgiving.  I’m following a recipe.  I’m good at following recipes, or I like to think I am.  In the recipe it calls for “crostini.”  A very fancy italian word for croutons.  Great, so I go buy some bakery bread, cut it thin (like it says in the recipe) and toast it, right?  The toast goes in the toaster oven, and the results are in the header picture.  If you can’t see it, here it is again:

bad_toast_skinny.jpg

Wow.  Smoke (but no fire) pours out of our poor longsuffering toaster oven, causing my six year old to cry out in fear that I’m burning the house down.  This is not unfounded, but that’s another post.  So I try again, this time setting it lighter, but once again my eye strays from the toaster oven a bit too long:

toast_twice.jpg

Ugh.  On the third try I get it (kind of) right and I only have to throw away one piece of toast.  The result of the dinner is here:

mario_soup.jpg

I know it doesn’t LOOK appetizing, but it was in fact quite tasty.  And it was pretty simple to prepare as long as you know how to make toast.

I had been toying with the idea of this blog for a while now, and after tonight’s dinner I knew it was meant to be.

Actions

Information

6 responses

31 01 2007
kfb1

He’s right – dinner was actually quite light and tasty tonight. And Mark is too hard on himself – often I am at least partly to blame when dinner is ruined. Like tonight I was supposed to be helping him with the toast but I kind of forgot about it…..
– Karen.

31 01 2007
Dawn

HE COOKS DINNER and for that he deserves a gold star, chef’s hat, etc. Dan makes mac and cheese and french toast sticks (from the freezer, not scratch) and eggs. Although, it is somewhat disturbing that the hard thing about this recipe was the making of toast…..

31 01 2007
Lawrence

Damn, I share your sentiment. Dinner ruined or not, getting a man to attempt to make it (let alone on a regular basis) deserves comendation. One of my major reasons for considering marriage is that I would not have to ever (rarely) cook. Mark seems to take an eager interest in it and having personally sampled his meals, I can say that he does not ALWAYS ruin dinner. Also bear in mind that preparing dinner with three boys running around you is not the easiest thing to do in thr world.

4 02 2007
Rhoda

Markkk, first of all I love the title of your blog but then this rarely happens. See Just like your pizza dough my roti comes out looking like maps as well. Lawrence is a pro at cooking it as it rises by his warm touch. Waiting on the day he can knead it too! Oh can you send a recipe of the honey bread that karen made.

5 02 2007
markruinsdinner

Of course I can! Everybody’s interested in Karen’s cooking aren’t they?

14 02 2007
How I impressed myself, it isn’t too hard to do. « Mark Ruins Dinner

[…] that soup from my first post?  Well I made it again with some modifications.  I didn’t use the […]

Leave a Reply

