The Invisible String

2 02 2007

You know, sometimes you’ll do just about anything to keep your kids occupied, if not quiet, while out to eat. Karen working late tonight and I just wasn’t up to cooking, so we went to Pizza Hut. Immediately Jonathan is LOUD LOUD LOUD and asking for this, asking for that, and bothering Isaac and messing with his hair and just being a total nuisance. (NO, not him!)

Since I’m the only parent at the table I realize that I can’t take on my usual demonic tone of voice and threaten them with sleeping in the basement until they’re 20. (We have a really creepy basement, the kids won’t even go down there, and I don’t think Karen’s ever been there either.) So I think back, back into my childhood and I remember this little trick someone showed me when I was, oh, 9 or so.

You take your “invisible string” and you wrap it around, in this case, a crayon. You make your knot, and you pull it tight. Then you place the crayon on the table in front of you and “pull the string” away from you, while blowing the crayon so that it follows your hand dutifully. You can do it overtly since all eyes are on the crayon anyway.

Isaac spent the rest of dinner trying to duplicate the trick, or trying to pick up the crayon with the string, or asking me where we could get some more. While trying to drag his crayon across the table with his string, Isaac knocked Jonathan’s milk to the floor. I suppose that’s my fault.

Isaac’s last words before bed to me were “Daddy, when can we go to the store to get more invisible string?”

Actions

Information

3 responses

2 02 2007
Dawn

From whom did you learn that? I don’t remember that at all. Glad it worked, though. You are brave – I never take mine to dinner on my own.

2 02 2007
markruinsdinner

Well I regretted it almost immediately, but it turned out okay. Oh, and I learned that trick from Tommy Horner. I think it was 8th grade, so I suppose I was older than nine.

4 02 2007
realityonastick

Nice one. I don’t have kids of my own just yet, but I teach kids of all ages and it’s amazing how much mileage you can get out of a few good magic tricks. And it’s not just when they’re small either. Being able to dupe junior high students gets you more than just their attention, you also get instant RESPECT! 😉

Leave a Reply

