Two for two

26 02 2007

Could it be that I cook two good dishes in the same weekend?  I’m not supposed to do that, this blog is called “Mark Ruins Dinner.”  But on this cold snowy weekend, and as I was trying to make us all think we were in the tropics, I made two winners.  Please excuse my gloating; I post a lot here about my failures, so I’m enjoying this.

Let me just say that this “Trinidad weekend” was my idea.  I know what you’re thinking; I just wanted an excuse for Karen to do all the cooking, but that wasn’t it.  I made the doubles on Saturday morning and they were a smashing sucess.  Also, Sunday dinner duties fell to me since Karen had cooked so much already that weekend.  So, we’re having a weekend of tropical food, what about the grand finale?

Tuna steaks were on sale at the local market.  Well, they weren’t “on sale,” they were there.  We live a very long way from the ocean, and we take what we can get in the fish department, so I kind of get excited to see cool stuff.  They had these beautiful tuna steaks, wild caught, from Brazil.  I had to get one.  Just one, it won’t be too expensive, and we can slice it up, serve it on some rice with some veggies, and it will be enough. 

I know what you’re thinking.  I was thinking about the flounder as I stood there in the market, debating with myself.  “This time it will be different.  I’ve seen people make tuna steaks on the grill or in the skillet.  I’ve got the perfect cast iron skillet for this.” 

After much searching we found this recipe.  Okay, it’s tuna steaks, grilled, medium rare, and it has a citrusy kind of sauce.  That sounds tropical, right?  Here’s a good thing to consider when trying a recipe for the first time: Read all the directions before you start cooking.  The sauce here is thickened by reducing almost 5 cups of ingredients down to 1/2 cup of liquid.  Start early.

Karen used this recipe for asparagus when we made the flounder last week, and it was so good she made it again Sunday night, with fresh green beans.  The only problem was it needed only 15 minutes to cook, while the sauce I was making took over an hour.  The veggies were delicious, even when cold.

My sauce looked nothing like the picture on the website; it’s obvious to me now that when they reduced theirs they caramelized it a bit, adding some natural sweetness.  I’m not good at caramelizing anything, so I added some brown sugar and said “It’s done.”  I seared the tuna on my new favorite skillet, 3 minutes on one side and 2 on the other:

searingtuna.jpg

Served with some jasmine rice and the aforementioned asparagus and green beans, it was very good, and the sauce actually went very well with the fish.  Who would’ve known? 

tunadish.jpg

Hooray for me.

Actions

Information

5 responses

27 02 2007
Daddy Forever

You’re a better than me, that’s for sure. However, I do have the ability to follow the directions on the Mac & Cheese box.

27 02 2007
Lawrence

Ammmmm…….that fish looks a little……rare……at least you know you could make it on survivor eating raw fish!!!

1 03 2007
Dawn

What are you doing that you don’t have time to update your blog, dude? It’s March for crying out loud.

1 03 2007
Shelly

Hmmm…eating out or ordering in?……That’s my guess. Maybe the doubles and tuna wore him out. LOL

6 03 2007
Michele

Hey…ok so I am a little late on catching up on your blog but I feel I must comment on the Saturday evening meal part of “Trinidad weekend” for which Karen and Aliyah were the primary cooks – YUMMY – everything was so good. I am happy to hear the tuna went as well as the doubles. Lightning does strike twice in the same place occasionally you know – smile.

Leave a Reply

