What’s next, more poached flounder?

5 03 2007

Okay, so maybe I’m not as fast a learner as I should be.  What’s rule #1 of home renovation?  It should be “Don’t tear off wallpaper unless you are fully prepared to re-hang drywall.”  Case in point:  When we bought our current house, the living room walls looked like this:

uglylivingroom.JPG

Fine, we’ll just paint and it will all be fine, right?  Wrong.  Underneath, the walls looked like this:

underwallpaper.JPG

Oh, I’m sorry, you can’t see what’s really there?  Look closer:

crumblingwall.JPG

Two rooms worth of new drywall and $1700 later we had a lovely living room that didn’t make our eyes hurt.  Lesson learned?  Perhaps not.  Here we are, two and a half years later, and I decided to tackle our dining room, shown here the day we moved in:

uglydiningroom.JPG

Now this makes my eyes hurt every day.  Who would purpose to make a room this dark?  We’ve got well over 200 watts of light bulbs in this room and we still can’t see our dinner.  I decide we’re going to paint this room to brighten it up a bit.  Okay, a lot.  Except there’s one problem.  There’s some sort of industrial adhesive holding the wallpaper to the wall.  It’s like the house is clinging to it, relying on the wallpaper for structural integrity.  And then I get this dose of bad news.  Wall #1 is finally free of wallpaper, so I start on wall #2.  Except this wall is not sheetrock.  I don’t even know what material it is, it feels like cardboard.  It’s some sort of wallboard made from a paper based material.  Boy does this thing soak up the steam.  I’m doing my best, people, but this house has it in for me.  And I know for a fact that two of these walls are plaster, so that’s going to be even more fun.  One room, three different wall materials, that’s going to look great, isn’t it?  If there’s butt-ugly wallpaper on the walls, there’s probably a reason nobody took it down.

Actions

Information

6 responses

5 03 2007
Shelly

Hmmmm…I seem to remember a movie with similar parallels. 😉

Step aside Tom Hanks and Shelley Long I think you’ve got stiff competition. I suggest you invest in a LifeAlert Pendant just in case the house wins.

5 03 2007
Aliyah

As far as I know, I’m free this weekend– I’ll come over and help strip wallpaper on Saturday if you take me to Wal-Mart afterwards so I can get some stuff for my Habitat build.

5 03 2007
markruinsdinner

You come help me? WOW! I made some more progress today so perhaps you can even paint some! Cool!

5 03 2007
Aliyah

Yes, I’ll consider it a warm-up for alternative spring break. 🙂

6 03 2007
Dawn

Can I tell you how much I LOVE not living in an old house anymore (says the woman who has been without her second bathroom for 4 months).

13 10 2011
Roofing Contractor

Hmmm. I might be in the same boat with you. I have been working on a kitchen remodel in our house for over 10 years. Little by little. Acutally, in all that time, the kitchen has only been out of commision for 2 days. It’s down to a couple of cabinet doors and some painting and then it’ll finally be finished. And just in time to start on the front bathroom……lol

Leave a Reply

