Karen only likes spicy food

8 03 2007

Okay, the title is a bit unfair.  I should say she prefers spicy food.  I just rarely make spicy food.   Who knows, if I were to start making Indian or Caribbean cuisine, I may ruin them to the point that she stops liking spicy food.  No, I think it’s best if Karen handles the exotic cooking in our house.  Anyway, this week I made Chicken Marsala.

I’ve made this recipe once before and we liked it, so I kept it.  It’s from Emeril, who is the first person you think of when you hear Italian cooking, especially on the Food Network. 

chickenmarsala.JPG

I like any recipe that calls for three cups of mushrooms.  Emeril says to slice them, but I like them halved instead:

tubolove.JPG

It’s a lot faster and I just like them better like that anyway.  Here’s the chicken cooking in the sauce:

shroomychicken.JPG

I like this method of cooking chicken breasts; they don’t dry out.  It’s impossible to ruin, right?  Maybe, if your pasta is done on time.  Now let’s talk about my brand new stock and pasta pot, with the included colander.  Big pot plus lots of water plus ceramic cooktop equals 45 minutes with no boiling water.  Ugh.  To use this pot I’m going to need a gas range.  I had to kill the heat on my chicken and cover it to keep it from being ruined.   The recipe said to “boil until thickened.”  Well, dude it was plenty thick.  Here’s a picture of my water not boiling:

stupidpot.JPG

The chicken turned out moist and the sauce was (I thought) kind of nice, although Karen thought it tasted bitter.  All in all I liked it, it was nice and shroomy, but Karen was apparently in the mood for something spicy.  She’s been like that a lot lately.  Perhaps I need to go get a pregnancy test.  Or she may be just missing Trinidad a little more thanks to all this snow.  Next week maybe I’ll make my chilli.

The recipe with my modifications follows

Chicken Marsala recipe

Ingredients

1/2 cup all purpose flour
seasoning (see below)
4 boneless skinless chicken breast halves
1 tbsp. olive oil
2 tbsp. butter
3 cups halved cremini mushrooms (yummy)
3/4 cup marsala wine (yummy)
1 onion, diced
4 cloves garlic, minced
1 cup chicken stock
salt and freshly ground black pepper

Seasoning:
paprika
salt
freshly ground black pepper
cayenne pepper
oregano
thyme

Method

Combine the seasoning and flour on a paper plate.  Dredge the chicken in the flour mixture and shake off the excess.

Heat the oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat.  Add 1 tbsp. butter and cook the chicken until golden brown on both sides, about 3 minutes per side.   Transfer to a plate and set aside.

Add the remaining 1tbsp. butter to the pan and add the mushrooms, onion, and garlic.  Cook, stirring frequently, until the mushrooms are golden brown around the edges.  Add the marsala and bring to a boil.  When the wine has reduced by half add the chicken stock and cook for 3 minutes or until the sauce has thickened slightly.  Lower the heat to medium and return the chicken to the pan and continue to cook until they are cooked through and the sauce has thickened, perhaps 5 to 6 minutes.

The recipe says to add another 2tbsp. butter at this point, but I forgot to and it still turned out pretty good.  I served this over angel hair pasta and it was delightfully yummy.  Oh yeah, and I also added a little more wine to the pan when I put the chicken back in.  Karen thought that made it taste bitter, but I thought the mushrooms were overpowering the wine until then.  And besides, Emeril did it on the TV show, so it must be right.  Oh well, maybe the extra butter was a good idea, we’ll never know.

Actions

Information

5 responses

8 03 2007
Karen

Excuse me? Pregnancy test?? I’m not THAT crazy. I don’t need to be pregnant to crave spicy food.

9 03 2007
Dawn

She IS from Trinidad, Mark. It’s not like she’s asking for eggs and ice cream at 3 a.m. Looks good, though. I love mushrooms. Next time tell me and we’ll come over for dinner.

9 03 2007
Shelly

Ewwww, Dawn…Eggs and Ice Cream?????? :)) I think the only thing I ever “CRAVED” was a pepperoni roll and that’s just cause I couldn’t get them in Tulsa! So sorry Dan!!! LOL.

10 03 2007
Dawn

Well, Shelly, I didn’t say I GOT it, I just said I CRAVED it.

10 03 2007
Shelly

Of course you know, Dawn, that I could never truly criticize anything a woman craves during pregnancy. I’ve always said we’re not responsible for anything that comes out of (or goes IN!) our mouths during pregnancy. We’re completely innocent of any charges!!! I would have to say that those same rules apply while the children are still in our care, right? We have a certain level of unspoken pre-forgiveness… 😉

Leave a Reply

