Obsessive Painting Disorder

12 04 2007

I mentioned that we were away for Easter weekend. We got home from a three hour drive late in the afternoon Sunday, and I just had to start painting the walls in the dining room. Two and a half hours later the first coat of primer was on, only I could still see all the patches of spackling underneath the paint. So Monday afternoon another coat of primer went on, in another two and a half hours. Ugh, what a nightmare. But then something amazing happened. The patches disappeared. I saw a smooth white wall, ready for some color. It was just begging for some color. Karen came home and was pleasantly shocked. I was so excited after all this work, I waited until the kids were asleep and started painting Monday night. It was 10:30.

I learned something that night. After about 9:00 I’m very slow, no matter what I’m doing. Next thing I know it’s 2:00am and I’ve done the walls with windows, and that’s it. Three walls done, three to go, but this time I can get out the big roller.  It turns out that I did most of the detail work, because we’re not painting the windows, just leaving the stain alone and giving it some polyurethane. We’re very glad we made that decision.

Goodbye Green!

No more dining room pics until the job is done.

Actions

Information

3 responses

13 04 2007
Dawn

I can’t wait to see it! I can’t wait to see it! Where’s the color? Is the color done yet? Huh? Huh? Is it done? (can you tell how much coffee I’ve had this morning?)

13 04 2007
Aliyah

I warn you– I’m still coming over to help painting this weekend, but I make no promises that I won’t cough all over your nicely painted walls.

13 04 2007
Daddy Forever

I’ve painted many a rooms around my house so I know how you feel. Painting is such an easy task, yet it takes a lot of time to tape things down and cut in. Have fun this weekend.

Leave a Reply

