PSA #1: Pork Cooking Temperatures

24 06 2007

I tried being funny about it, but apparently there are a lot of people out there who want to know about eating pork medium rare or rare. So here’s my first official public service announcement about food safety. You wanna know if you can eat pork medium rare, here’s where to go:

USDA Cooking Temperature Fact Sheet

Yes, there are approved cooking temperatures for medium and well-done pork. If that wasn’t enough, the Food Network has (I hope) done some research and come up with their own recommendations, including one for medium rare pork. We in our house think they’re crazy, but I suppose there are certain prejudices that you grow up with and you can never get rid of.

Food Network’s take on USDA Cooking Temperatures

I hope this takes care of everyone’s needs, thank you for visiting my blog.

Actions

Information

3 responses

24 06 2007
The TriniGourmet

I saw a medium-rare Bobby flay pork dish that he serves at Mesa on the tv once… i was really confused but i figure it had to be legit if he was selling it. I”m glad i keep kosher that’s all i’ll say, lolz 🙂

25 06 2007
Daddy Forever

You know, whenever I cook to the temperature I’m suppose to, the meat ends up too dry and over-cooked.

27 06 2007
mark - in my own defense

One of the things I did learn about from the food network is carry over. If you take the meat out of the oven 7-10 degrees below your target temperature and let it rest for 10 minutes it will be perfectly done.

Leave a Reply

