This is why I get the food network

25 06 2007

Good Eats is by far the best food show ever. If my kids watch your cooking show and say “Play that again, Daddy” you know it’s great. And he always uses the most important phrase in any cooking show: “You’ll know it’s done when…

I made cinnamon rolls this week. I’d made them before (and by “I” I mean Aliyah made them, but it was my idea) and they’d turned out great. This time I figured I’d document the process for posterity.

Alton showed me how to make them but some of these things I don’t have access to. Like a stand mixer.  Wanna know a good reason to get a stand mixer? I couldn’t quite get the butter mixed in all the way at the beginning with a whisk. Not soft enough I guess. See?

it was the best i could do

So I made Alton’s recipe with some changes. Here is my whisk attachment:

my whisk attachment

Here is my dough hook:

my dough hook

Have I told you that I hate my oven? Well, not for long. The oven switched off again. I swear the previous owners left just before everything in this house broke.  So twice now a $30 Wal-Mart toaster oven bought twelve years ago has come to the aid of a $2000 Jenn-Air downdraft convection oven.

It’s not just that the range is broken, what about my cinnamon rolls? They were half cooked after an hour. See what happened to my nice quiet Monday morning breakfast to finish off Karen’s vacation week? We went from this:

peaceful breakfast

to this:

rolls in the toaster oven, cooked 4 at a time

It’s still a great recipe, and if I can do it on the first try you know it’s good. I’ll have to do this again once our new oven is delivered.

Actions

Information

5 responses

25 06 2007
Karen

The rolls were TO DIE FOR even if they took 90 minutes longer than expected.
😉

26 06 2007
Dawn

They look totally delicious. So much so that I think I DON’T want the recipe. Are you really getting a new oven?

26 06 2007
Aliyah

I think when I made them I used my hands in lieu of a dough hook. But that’s a seriously good recipe, and it’s quite easy, especially if you have the right kind of yeast.

27 06 2007
mark - in my own defense

Indeed. If I can do it on the first try it’s easy. Especially for those of you with a stand mixer, you have no excuses.

28 06 2007
dennis

I now have CRAVINGSSS

Leave a Reply

