Future White House press correspondent

10 07 2007

Recently Jonathan has discovered the art of conversation. The give and take, question and answer, point and counterpoint. And he’s getting very comfortable with it, so much so that there really isn’t a topic that intimidates him. He’ll interject into any conversation two people may be having. Herein lies the problem though. We’ll be talking at dinner and Jonathan will try to put in his two cents, but of course we’re not listening. That’s when he politely lets us know that he can’t get a word in edgewise. Except he usually puts it like this:

“I CAN’T TALK!! I CAN’T TALK!! I CAN’T TALK!!”

Jonny Smile

We’ve been trying to teach him to politely say “excuse me,” but he shouts that too. Then we tried telling him to just wait his turn. Guess how that went?

I was taking the boys to Karen’s office for lunch, and Isaac and I were talking. Jonathan wanted to speak, so he asked Isaac politely if he could step in.

“ISAAC, CAN I HAVE A TURN? ISAAC, CAN I HAVE A TURN? ISAAC CAN I HAVE A TURN?”

see? I even look like a pundit!

I got Jonathan to calm down a bit, and Isaac finished what he was saying. So then I asked Jonathan what was so important, what was this question that was weighing on his mind so much?

“Is it summer?”

That’s my kid, asking the tough questions.

Actions

Information

2 responses

11 07 2007
Mary

LOL! Yup… My daughter usually says she forgot what she wanted after about 5 minutes of interrupting us.

14 07 2007
Miss Behaving

Yeah, I think my son and your son should meet!

Leave a Reply

