Goodbye, cruel world!

19 07 2007

I’m disappearing for a few days, going offline.  If there’s one thing I can’t stand, it’s spoilers. Spoilers are evil.  A radio station morning show spoiled The Sixth Sense for me years ago and I’ve never forgiven them.

So I will talk to you all after I have finished reading Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows. Did I say I’m going offline? No computer, no television, no radio, no newspaper, no NOTHING until I’m done reading that book. I won’t even be answering my phone. Don’t call and leave a message, the machine is turned off.  In fact I’m not even going to the store to get it. Amazon is delivering it tomorrow. Crazy, you say? You bet. The only place I’m guaranteed to be safe is at church on Sunday.

But I won’t be able to just sit and read after it arrives. You see, today is Isaac’s birthday. He turns lucky 7 and tomorrow is his pirate birthday party, AAAARRRRRGGG! We’ll be having a whopping 5 friends over so there should be at least 1 pound of candy for each of them in the pinata. Do they sell pirate toothbrushes?

In honor of this auspicious occasion I’m posting a slide show of some of the sillier pictures we’ve taken of Isaac. He can’t have thought I’d keep them to myself. Happy birthday dude, you totally rock!

And yes, I tagged this post “Harry Potter” as a cheap way to increase my hit count. I’m a shameless sellout.  Syndication here I come!

Actions

Information

8 responses

20 07 2007
Aliyah

My copy of Harry Potter doesn’t get to Trinidad until the 25th. I’m trying to keep away from the spoilers (it’s not working, though! The New York Times review told me what the Hallows are!) but I’m not sure if I have your willpower.

I have, however, informed Sharai that I will be socially unavailable for at least two days after I get my copy of DH for reading and re-reading time, possibly longer if a character I like dies, in which case I’ll need weeping time. He retaliated by informing me that he’s going to see Order of the Phoenix without me.

20 07 2007
mark - in my own defense

Since when did the NY Times get an advance copy? I thought Ms. Rowling was always adamant that critics got the books at the same time as everyone else.

20 07 2007
Aliyah

No clue. Maybe espionage was involved.

20 07 2007
Lawrence

Who cares? You guys really need a life.

23 07 2007
Miss Behaving

I hope you were able to keep it pure.
We get American Idol a few weeks later than the US and I managed to keep it totally pure until someone ruined it at the Final 4.
Gotta go underground.

25 07 2007
Dawn

So, aren’t you done with that blasted book yet? Where’s your next post?

25 07 2007
Karen

Mark very graciously let me read the book first, so he only started it last night. Wasn’t that nice of him?

26 07 2007
Dawn

That was very nice of him. Tell him I said to read faster. 🙂

Leave a Reply

