Harry Potter and the Trip to Starbucks

17 08 2007

I have emerged from my self-imposed hermitage from society and I can honestly say that this was the hardest Harry Potter book to read.  The boys wouldn’t give me any time to myself. So I was relegated to reading times from 10:30pm on, basically reading until my eyes no longer stayed open.

Reading Harry Potter is like watching BBC. It makes me feel cultured, even though there’s a bit of toilet humor. And there’s something about British humor that makes me proud of myself when I get the joke. It’s not that often that we here in America read anything with words like git, prat, codswallop, skulduggery, and snog (my personal favorite). I was hoping to see bollocks (Gordon Ramsay’s second favorite word) used in book 7 when Harry’s 17, but no dice. Perhaps in the British version…

The “bad guy” in the Harry Potter books is the evil Lord Voldemort, who is a much more interesting character than Harry. Voldemort thinks that death is the worst thing imaginable, which means he’s never seen any of the Saw movies.

I didn’t read the first chapter of Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows. I had J. K. Rowling read it to me. I know, I’m a dork, but that was cool. It was also nice because I could watch that while Karen was finishing the book downstairs. She’s usually such a fast reader…

As a parent I’ve always been on the lookout for great children’s books, and we’ve managed to find a good number of them for our boys to read over the years.  The Harry Potter series is definitely on our “must read with the boys” list.  There are some really awesome children’s books out there that are a lot of fun to read.  So I have a question for you.  Everyone has at least one or two favorite children’s books, either from their own childhood or from reading with their kids.  What are some of yours?

Actions

Information

4 responses

17 08 2007
chennette

Diana Wynne Jones does some awesome (also British) fantasy for children and young adults. The cool thing about her books is that there are ones for younger kids, and then ones for older kids->adults with more complex themes – you can grow with it. I think she writes better than JK Rowling and there’s a wide variety of ideas. I am of course, a fan of the Harry Potter series although I seriously need to reread both 6 and 7.
Gordon Korman is my alltime favourite fun author for kids/young adults. Try for his earlier stuff – MacDonald Hall books etc – they are hilarious. (I know he has these nosepickers and adventure etc series from more recent time, but I am not a big fan of those – they don’t have the charm and original laugh-out-loud humour).

18 08 2007
Miss Behaving

For youngers kids, all my children have loved at one time or another, stuff like
The Giving Tree, Are You My Mother, The Bear Uner The Stairs etc, and my all time favourite Rainbow Bear, wich t this day I can’t read without crying.

As a youg girl I loved Noel Streatfield’s books..Thursday’s Child, Ballet Shoes,The Gemma series and also Laura Ingalls Wilder.
When my daughter were very small ( now 10 and 14) I had all my very own books, which had sat on the shelves of my parents house for years, sent to Japan, so they would be there for m girls to read when they were ready.
Well of course,it turns out that was just a dim and distant dream.They wont touch Laura Ingalls Wilder with a stick.
Why? I ask.
Cos its boring, its all about the wind…” It was a cold wind that blew that year”,.
“It was a mighty wind that blew Mr Edwards to our little house..” etc.

They like more contemporary writers like Jaqueline Wilson. They also like Harry Potter, but wont read it in English.

My sons ( 7 and 8) like Roald Dahl, though I read his stuff to them as they dont read much English yet themselves.
Books they select for themselves in Japanese tend to be non-fiction, sort of kids version stuff, of Anne Frank, Martin Luther King etc.

Glad you like the British-isms, my favourites are ‘wanker’ and ‘knackered’:)

19 08 2007
Karen

I like the C.S. Lewis Chronicles of Narnia and Tolkien’s Hobbit and Lord of the Rings, but you already knew that.
😉

20 08 2007
Dawn

I grew up on Laura Ingalls Wilder. Tried to read them to the boys, to no avail. Will have to wait for my granddaughters. Also Judy Blume. In high school it was James Clavell. I liked the boiling in oil part.

Leave a Reply

