Halftime Chili

11 09 2007

Yes, football is back. It’s really been too long. In honor of this auspicious occasion (and in appreciation to NFL officials for scheduling Cleveland in Mike Tomlin’s coaching debut) I’m making Man Food. But it’s not just Man Food, I’m providing a public service here. You see, all prep work is done before the game or during commercial breaks. I told you I’ve got your back. If you start about an hour before the game you should have the chili simmering nicely just in time for kickoff. At least that’s how long it took me.

Many people make beef chili, many people make bean chili. I always put both in. And we also always have it with rice. This is due to Karen’s Trinidad upbringing. They have rice and beans. All the time. And I must admit it’s very good that way. I just won’t win any awards for this because all competition chili is either one or the other.

Chili is actually pretty easy. You start by chopping up some veggies and sweating the aromatics (as Alton Brown likes to say).

Do not brown!!!

Then you dump everything else in, bring to a simmer, and then go watch the game.

oops, I forgot something…

Wait! I almost forgot. You know, I was on my way to the couch when I remembered the beef. I had my Bettis jersey on and everything. Don’t forget the beef. Note: Do not sear the meat before you put it in. I did this once. Can you say shoe leather? This was our steak, and yes I chopped it into little bits.

oh yeah, there’s meat in this dish!

If you want rice, you can start that at about the time the Brows fans start chanting “Brady Quinn! Brady Quinn!” At the two minute warning go chop the cilantro (my secret ingredient. Shhhh!) and stir that in.

You’ll know it’s done when:

Hungry yet?

At halftime everything is ready, go enjoy.

Chili with beef and beans. Booyeah.

WARNING: This chili is extremely filling and possibly nap inducing. Beware eating this dish during an exciting game; you may fall asleep during the crucial last few minutes. Perhaps you should only make this when your team is playing the Cleveland Browns.

Mark’s Halftime Chili

Ingredients:
1 sirloin steak, 1 1/2 pounds, cut into cubes
2 small onions (or 1 medium), diced
1/2 medium green bell pepper, coarsely chopped
1/2 medium red bell pepper, coarsely chopped
3 cloves garlic, minced
2 (15 oz) cans diced tomatoes, undrained
1 (15 oz) can red kidney beans, rinsed and drained
2 jalepeno peppers, diced fine
2 serrano peppers, diced fine
1 tablespoon chilli powder
1 1/2 teaspoon cumin
chopped cilantro, to taste
1/2 teaspoon kosher salt

Method:
Heat some olive oil in a dutch oven. Add the onion, bell peppers, garlic, and kosher salt. Sweat. (And you will. It’s 90 degrees and you’re making chili.) Once they have given up their moisture, add everything else but the cilantro. Cover and simmer until halftime. At the two minute warning chop the cilantro and add it to the pot. At this time you can also put on the rice if you are so inclined.

Actions

Information

7 responses

11 09 2007
telmcg

I love chili! There’s something so regional about it; it’s so different depending on what part of the country you’re from- the South, New Mexico, Cincinnati, etc. I’ll definitely have to give this recipe a try. Thanks for sharing. GO SAINTS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

12 09 2007
Dawn

I’m sending you black and gold plates for Christmas so that your football food looks appropriately festive. You really cannot serve ANYTHING on blue and white dishes during football season.

12 09 2007
mark - in my own defense

Come on! Those are Yorketowne dishes, pure Pennsylvania! Besides, Penn State is blue and white, right?

12 09 2007
Dawn

Why watch boys when you can watch men. I mean, I don’t follow college football.

The food looks absolutely gorgeous and yummy. I’m just thinking it’s awfully close to NE colors.

ON A WHOLLY UNRELATED NOTE – CLEVELAND TRADED FRYE after the debacle Sunday. he, he, he, he…….

12 09 2007
mark - in my own defense

I know. Good for him. Except that means he gets to come back to Pittsburgh in October as a Seahawk.

13 09 2007
Bennie

Weird, Mark. We made our version of chili for Monday Night Football. I say great minds think alike.

Now enjoy our former defensive coordinator. I can only hope that one day the Vikings get a rematch with the Steel Curtain. Yeah and hell could freeze over…

25 09 2007
David Mills

That isn’t chili. Stew, maybe. Kudos on the cilantro garnish, though.

Leave a Reply

