Postgame sliders

13 09 2007

This is Part II from my previous post on chili. That one was running a little long so I decided to give the sliders their own post.

If you have enough energy after eating all that chili, you can go ahead and make some sliders, or mini hamburgers, as a postgame top off. I got this idea a couple years ago from a cookbook for toddlers, and it said that these were just as popular with adults as they are with kids. Further confirmation came from Top Chef last month, where they made these for late-night partygoers in Miami.

I love mushrooms. The problem with putting them on burgers, however, is that they all tend to fall out onto your shirt. You can’t taste them on your shirt. I’ve been on the lookout for months for an idea to put shrooms on a burger successfully. And I had my epiphany right there in the supermarket. I know, I’ve had those before, but I didn’t have the kids with me this time. My idea: small burgers, big mushrooms:

small burgers, big mushrooms

I know what you’re thinking. Thank you, I thought it was brilliant too. And while I’m grilling mushrooms I may as well grill some onions too. Oooh, and I found this great recipe for grilled fries from Bobby Flay, so we even have a side dish.

So how’d it go, you say? It went well. I took a pound of ground chuck and mixed it with a pound of what I later found out was Karen’s special ground round that she uses for a “burn Mark’s taste buds off” Thai dish of hers. So the burgers should be awesome. I mixed in 3 minced cloves of garlic and some kosher salt. Out of 2 pounds of meat I ended up with 17 burgers, so that’s about 8 per pound. I basically shaped them to be a little bigger than the rolls.

slider patties

I slice up an onion and those big shrooms and take everything outside. I put the onions and mushrooms on the piece of foil and transfer it to the grill, only on the way everything drops to the ground. One of the mushrooms actually breaks into five pieces upon impact, furthering my humiliation.

Go ahead… laugh.  I know you want to.

I salvaged one of the mushrooms and grilled dinner.

The mushrooms were already done in this pic

I learned something. When grilling mushrooms, don’t put them on foil. They stick. Put them directly on the grill, or maybe even in a little cast iron skillet on the grill. That sounds good. Put the onions in there too, while you’re at it. Now I’m getting hungry again. Anyway, everything turned out well. I did char the fries a bit, but it was getting dark and I couldn’t really see that well. But I did make a successful mushroom swiss burger:

how’s that for perfect?

Next time I may make my own burger buns, Karen’s already tried it.

Mark’s Postgame Swiss Mushroom Sliders

Ingredients:
2 pounds ground beef (whatever kind you want)
3 cloves garlic, minced
1 teaspoon kosher salt
Balsamic vinegar, for brushing while on the grill
Swiss cheese, sliced
stuffing mushrooms
small onions
Green leaf lettuce
Dinner rolls

Method:
Mix the beef, garlic, and salt together in a large bowl. Form them into patties, approximately 8 per pound. Slice the onions and the mushrooms into circles, they should be as big as the rolls. Grill everything, brushing the meat with balsamic vinegar.

Assemble the burgers, consume, repeat.

Actions

Information

2 responses

15 09 2007
Karen

The burgers were actually quite good, and the second batch of potatoes wasn’t quite so charred either.

16 09 2007
Jenny from Chicago

Yum. I found you through Daddy Forever, he says you’re evil but this blog is adorable in a manly sort of way. I think I will get my husband to start reading this blog. Maybe he will get the hint that a ruined dinner made by him is better in so many ways than a decent dinner made by me. Nice to read you.

Leave a Reply

