Wings & mushrooms

20 09 2007

football finger food

I’m starting to enjoy posting football food. I get to use my grill. But alas, cold weather is on the way and I will have to move my enterprises inside soon. We’ll see if Man Food can be made indoors.

So this past weekend I was thinking wings. Karen gave me these great grilling cookbooks for my birthday and I’ve got to use them, right? Weber’s Big Book had two recipes I wanted to try. And I found a recipe in Bobby Flay’s book for grilled portabella caps. Sounds like fun.

Among the ingredients for one of the wing recipes was Tabasco, for heat. My wife is from Trinidad; we don’t have Tabasco, we have Chatak, remember? I used two teaspoons of it in the marinade and bought an extra gallon of milk.

I made two different kinds of wings.  They were both very good, but I only marinaded the sweet & spicy ones for a couple of hours. I ran out of time Saturday night, but next time they’ll both marinade overnight. Of what I made, the last wings on the grill had more pepper to them. Either the extra time in the marinade helped, or pepper sauce sinks to the bottom.

It’s wings!

As you can see I can burn chicken on a charcoal grill just as well as I can on a gas grill. It helps if I’m paying more attention to the game than the grill.

Help! I’m burning!

I liked the looks of Bobby’s grilled mushroom caps, but decided to take things a step further. He wanted Parmesan cheese crusted over the mushrooms toward the end. We didn’t have any fresh parmesan so I figured I could use mozzarella, and I even decided to put a little slice of tomato under the cheese. (I’m thinking pizza here. Genius, I know.) Toward the end I found some shredded parmesan in the fridge so I threw that on too. They turned out great, but in the future I’d make them out of regular sized creminis so that they’re bite-sized. I’ll keep you posted.

hot shroomy goodness

After all was said and done I had 3 good appetizers suitable for catering my Super Bowl party this year, should I have opportunity to host one. Go Steelers.

Mighty Tasty Drumettes

Marinade:
3 Tbsp. Soy Sauce
2 Tbsp. fresh Lemon Juice
1 Tbsp. Honey
1 Tbsp. Sesame Oil
1 1/2 tsp. minced Garlic
1 tsp. minced fresh Ginger
1/2 tsp. Crushed Red Pepper Flakes

Hot, Sweet, & Sticky Chicken Wings

Marinade:
1/2 cup Ketchup
1/4 cup Balsamic Vinegar
2 Tbsp. Dark Brown Sugar
4 tsp. minced Garlic
4 tsp. Worcestershire Sauce
2 tsp. Pepper Sauce
2 tsp. Dijon Mustard
2 tsp. Paprika
2 tsp. Chili Powder

Actions

Information

3 responses

20 09 2007
Daddy Forever

I saw those pictures and I thought you were using the gas grill again. If you’re going to host a superbowl party, you’re going to have a get a new giant flat screen tv too. I’m sure your wife won’t mind.

20 09 2007
Karen

Flat screen TV? Great idea – only if Mark is prepared to work at Wal-Mart again to offset the cost!
😀

22 09 2007
Michele B

You can’t (host a SB) this year because you’re coming to ours – since Karen missed out last year we need to make it up to her.

Leave a Reply

