Coaxing the kids into dessert

21 10 2007

Pennsylvania in October means apples, and my favorite dessert as a kid was apple crisp. With ice cream, of course. Even apple pie can’t compare because it doesn’t have a crumble crust of brown sugar and oats. It’s been years since I’ve had apple crisp, but we’ve got company right now and why not experiment on them?

I’d been thinking about this for a while, but something kept telling me “it needs something more.” Then I thought of it. My dulce de leche.

all for me, none for you

Well, technically it’s Alton Brown’s dulce de leche. But since it came out so well last time I’ve adopted it as my own. It was a bit runny this time; I didn’t let it reduce long enough. Oh well. It was still good.

I learned something during this experience. My dish is too big. When the apples cooked down it turned out very flat. I need to go out and buy a smaller baking dish I suppose. This is all I had.

I guess the 8×8 baking dish wasn’t negotiable

My next challenge was to get Isaac to try it. If you didn’t know, my firstborn is allergic to peanuts. He remembers all too well the last time he ate a dessert with peanut butter hidden in there somewhere. Because of this he steers clear of baked goods not made at home, as well as all prepackaged cookies that don’t say OREO on the box. To him the oats looked like peanuts, and he just wouldn’t take my word for it that he’s not allergic to oats. The “Isaac, I’m your daddy and I’d never serve you peanuts” approach didn’t work. He apparently thinks I’ve been trying to kill him off for years. I’m amazed he even stays in the same house as me.

It wasn’t until I told him that he’s been eating oats every day for years that his resistance even weakened. I then trotted out all the cereal boxes in the house and showed him that they all have oat flour in them. Then the scared look turned into a smile. He tried it, he loved it. Of course he did.

Jonathan didn’t even try his, but just ate his ice cream. It wasn’t because he was scared; he was just being a turd. I ate his.

Apple Crisp

Filling
5 Macintosh apples, peeled and sliced
1 tsp cinnamon
1 tbsp water
1 tsp lemon juice

Topping
1 cup rolled oats
3/4 cup all purpose flour
3/4 cup firmly packed brown sugar
1/2 cup butter, softened

Preheat oven to 375. Place the apples in an ungreased 8-inch square baking dish. Mix together with cinnamon, water, and lemon juice. In a large bowl, combine all the topping ingredients; mix until crumbly. Sprinkle the crumb mixture evenly over the apples. Bake for 25 to 35 minutes or until the fruit is tender and the topping is golden brown.

Actions

Information

4 responses

22 10 2007
Dawn

You finally did it. Coffee came squirting out my nose. Thanks.

22 10 2007
daspeedy » Coaxing the kids into dessert

[…] here for […]

23 10 2007
Daddy Forever

Why don’t you show me how to make lemon creme turnovers. I love those, but the bakery I use to buy them from closed.

23 10 2007
mark - in my own defense

Making my sister squirt coffee out of her nose is the goal of every post on my blog. I’ll just remember to keep calling my kids names.

Leave a Reply

