Where did I put those receipts?

13 12 2007

Isaac goes to a Catholic school. Since we’re not Catholic his religion classes are often very enlightening, especially through the eyes of a seven-year-old. Apparently one day early this week they were introduced to the differences between “wants” and “needs.” This lesson came complete with an in-class activity:

give all my presents to daddy

What an opportune time to have such an activity! I noticed that he crossed out “Toys” five times on the worksheet. “So Isaac, that means you don’t need toys? If only I’d known sooner! Maybe we should include this paper with your letter to Santa!” Isaac didn’t think it was such a good idea.

Actions

Information

8 responses

13 12 2007
Lawrence

You’re mean! And what a rotten time for them to be teaching those lessons! Catholic school sucks!

14 12 2007
Mom/grandma

How cruel to be taught that lesson now and to have to cross out “toys” all of five times………..Poor Isaac. I wonder what Jon would have done.

14 12 2007
Karen

I think Jonny would have highlighted the “food” boxes.
😉

14 12 2007
mark - in my own defense

Yes, and instead of “toys” he would’ve crossed out “clothes.”

15 12 2007
Lawrence

LOL. Poor Isaac…..The interesting thing though is that in actuality, toys ARE necessities. They help with developmental skills e.g. hand eye co-ordination, imaginative play and the rest. So maybe a better idea would be to buy the boys MORE toys! At least that’s the always popular Uncle Lawrence’s take on the situation

16 12 2007
chennette

I would have had a dilemma with so many boxes for toys – does that mean I can NEED toys ONCE, if I cross out the other 4?

16 12 2007
Daddy Forever

I’m farily certain my son would insist he needs toys and wouldn’t cross them out. Sort of like you need the Steelers to win today. Sorry, but I couldn’t resist. I’m evil.

16 12 2007
mark - in my own defense

Why did I need the Steelers to win today? So they maybe go one week deeper into the playoffs before losing? If they’re not careful we’ll be playing wild card weekend in Cleveland. Ouch.

Leave a Reply

