Santa will thank you

23 12 2007

Karen recently got a cookbook revolving around chocolate and coffee. Sometimes they’re together, sometimes they’re showcased separately. Flipping through the book there was one recipe in particular that caught my eye. It seemed as though the book would fall open to the page of its own accord. And it does now, since I’ve spent so much time drooling over the picture. It was called “White Hot Chocolate” and I was instantly hooked. Karen was unconvinced because white chocolate isn’t real chocolate, but I said “I’m making it, do you want some or not?”  She did.

So I got the idea, wouldn’t Santa like this? It’d keep him warm for his wintry trek, and it’s got a splash of liquor to keep his cheeks rosy. So go ahead, make Santa happy and ditch the milk for something more interesting. This is what he really wants.

I love this mug

I made this with skim milk, but I can imagine it’s ten times better with whole milk. Good idea, I think I’ll go make some more.

White Hot Chocolate

2 servings

Ingredients
3 cups milk
3 oz. white chocolate, chopped
1 tsp. instant coffee powder
1 tsp. Gran Marnier
whipped cream and ground cinnamon, to serve

Heat the milk in a heavy saucepan until almost boiling. Remove from the heat when bubbles form around the edge of the pan. Add the white chocolate, coffee powder, and Gran Marnier. Stir until all the chocolate has melted and the mixture is smooth. Pour into mugs and top with whipped cream and cinnamon.

Actions

Information

4 responses

26 12 2007
dennis

That does look good (however, I will skip the skimp milk)

31 12 2007
Dawn

OK, a whole week and nothing new? You had to have ruined SOMETHING since the 23rd!

31 12 2007
sharon millar

Happy New Year Mark and Karen. I’m looking forward to lots more great posts in 2008.
Sharon

31 12 2007
Don

Happy New Year! I look forward to reading more from a dad that ruins as many dinners as I do (want proof that I can massacre a meal? click here)

Leave a Reply

