What if this was a sports car blog?

3 01 2008

If this year’s Christmas takings were indicative of what kind of Christmas gifts I can expect in the future then I’m never stopping this blog.

So what did I open on Christmas morning? Well, Karen got me Kitchen Confidential by Anthony Bourdain, which is good reading in case you’ve been thinking about opening your own restaurant.

My sister got us some custom printed aprons, and these came with opening instructions. I was to open my present first,

Order yours today!

Then Karen was to open hers.

Too shay

I’m looking to market these in local Wal-Mart stores.  I’ll get them on the shelves, I know the overnight stockers.

My sister also sent a “Giant Art Jar” for Jonathan.  When this arrived I took a quick glance at the packing list and thought for sure I’d seen “Giant ANT Jar.”   I was on my way to Starbucks to get her kids some chocolate espresso beans when I realized my mistake.

A dear friend who visits this blog once a quarter got us a set of Alton Brown’s plungers, perfect for measuring and doling out those sticky ingredients.

Look!  It’s Alton!

Thanks, Michelle. Your copy of Why Mommy is a Democrat is on the way.

So how cool was that? Best Christmas Ever.  These presents give me the idea that people actually read this blog. Pretty soon I’ll get an ego like Stephen Colbert. Oh yeah, I forgot to mention what Aliyah gave me.

Actions

Information

10 responses

3 01 2008
Chennette

Oooh, cool gifts! I just read my way through Kitchen Confidental. He has style with his words, definitely. And I always knew I couldn’t run or work in a restaurant – this confirms it 🙂
Waiting for a shot of you two wearing those aprons – excellent gifts!

3 01 2008
dennis

Waaaay cool gifts!

4 01 2008
Ryan

If you liked Kitchen Confidential you should pick up his latest book, The Nasty Bits, which is a collection of his articles and essays. Very fun.

4 01 2008
mark - in my own defense

Yeah, she got me that too. I especially like his take on Woody Harrelson.

4 01 2008
Kat

I just recently stumbled upon your blog, and all I can say is – I love it!!! Those aprons are just awesome, definitely something you should wear proudly – and at all family gatherings.

5 01 2008
Lindsay

Custom aprons are a great gift. My grandmother has everything – so for Christmas I ordered some aprons with things she often says on them. She loved them and the whole family had a great time wearing them over the holidays and laughing.

5 01 2008
Miss Behaving

Great gifts, especially those aprons, I love them.
Happy New Year to you and the family.

6 01 2008
Bennie

I want one of those aprons! Also my condolences on the Steelers loss last night.

8 01 2008
Michele B

Just stopping in for my once-a-quarter visit (hey I can’t really argue that since if you look back, my oft witty comments are always last on the list – shame since no one gets to enjoy them but you guys). Little did I know I was joining in on a gift theme here but Dawn’s gift by far was cleverest. I’ll join in and say I’d love an apron too….great way to promote the blog for future MarkRuinsDinner fans, foodies and wanna-be foodies (I think I will always be just a wanna-be since I’m just as happy with a peanutbutter and jelly sandwhich far too often).

16 01 2008
Daddy Forever

Your sister has a great sense of humor.

Leave a Reply

