A good night for soup

26 02 2008

Freezing cold temperatures, rainy weather. Good for two things. Staying in bed and eating soup. I made the soup and Karen made the sandwiches with some leftovers that she threw together after coming home from work.

soup sandwich and hot chocolate

I was shocked to look back and realize that I’ve never posted about my cream of broccoli soup. It’s such a staple at our house; we have it about once a month during the winter. I’m sure Karen’s getting sick of it these days, but the boys seem to enjoy it. I took the recipe from my favorite soup cookbook and made a few minor modifications.

On an episode of Kitchen Nightmares Gordon Ramsay gives his recipe for a broccoli soup. It consists of broccoli, water, and salt. He pits it against someone else’s and asks a “random” taster “which one tastes more of broccoli?” His may taste more like broccoli than mine, but I’d rather eat mine any day of the week.

If you’re interested in reading my ceaseless ramblings about the making of this soup, feel free to click <more>. But I won’t force you to.

You’re back!  Great! 

Okay, first things first. They say to procure two pounds of fresh broccoli, cut off the florets and peel the stems. Peel the stems? Hello? That sounds like work! Buy an extra pound and just use the florets. Seriously. Now, it says to use two leeks, but the leeks we get here are kinda pathetic so I use one of those bunches of three (and in this case there were four). Add one small onion and a rib of celery and sweat in some olive oil in your favorite soup pot (don’t forget to add some kosher salt).

onions and leeks and celery OH MY

While that’s cooking go ahead and turn this

big bunch of broccoli

into this.

didn’t Dana Carvey write a song about this?

It actually went pretty quick this time, I was amazed. Toss the florets in and cook for a few more minutes, until they turn a bright and pleasing shade of green.

IF YOU DON’T DO THIS STEP YOUR SOUP WILL BE GRAY!!!!!

This is where it gets kinda weird. The recipe calls for me to add a quarter cup of flour, but I’m not exactly sure why. I mean, it all works out in the end I suppose so maybe it needs that little bit of thickening. Whatever, add the flour and cook, stirring frequently, for 2-4 minutes (the flour will stick to the bottom of the pot; don’t let it burn).

Add the stock a little at a time at first so the flour doesn’t form lumps, then put in the rest (a quart and a half total). Simmer for 30-45 minutes, or until those florets begin to disintegrate a little. Then you can finish the job with my new favorite kitchen tool:

soupmuncher extrordinaire

If you like to make soup and you don’t have a stick blender, get one. It is way easier than what the cookbook tells you to do. When the soup has been pulverized enough add a half cup of heated heavy cream, the juice of one quarter of a lemon, and season with salt and pepper to taste. Garnish with some steamed florets if you have the energy.

It may seem like a lot of steps, but I’ve noticed that the same basic steps are repeated for a lot of different soups. So I’m starting to get the hang of it.

Actions

Information

7 responses

27 02 2008
maharnor

I tried it is very tasty.. Thanks for the receipe

27 02 2008
Aliyah

The flour is because you’re making a roux, same as if you were making a white sauce. So yes, it is to thicken the soup!

27 02 2008
mark - in my own defense

Yes, but it’s done after all the veggies are cooked. That’s why I thought it was weird.

27 02 2008
Dawn

You mean with the stick blender you don’t have to take the boiling hot liquid in a big pot and try to pour it into the blender, pulverize, and pour it back? I thought this was a MAN’s blog. Where’s the danger in that? 🙂

27 02 2008
mark - in my own defense

Use a stick blender once and you’ll see how easy it is to splatter that boiling hot liquid all over yourself.

28 02 2008
jeremy

I like that you mentioned Gordon Ramsay, and you used a hot dog roll. Now that’s my kind of cooking.

4 03 2008
dennis

Sounds deeelish!

Leave a Reply

