Officially summer

26 05 2008

It took Mother Nature until Memorial Day weekend to get the memo that she was supposed to be warming things up. This has been a very cold and rainy spring, but this past weekend was glorious. That is, until dinnertime on Monday.

Isn’t that awesome? Just about the time I go outside to fire up the grill I feel raindrops. Karen made some kebabs, and those actually cooked on the grill, but the chicken ended up being cooked in the microwave and seared on the grill. While pulling the chicken off the grill in the rain I dropped one of the drumsticks on the ground in my haste. Oops.

We actually grilled every day this weekend, which was sweet. Sunday’s main course consisted of mesquite smoked chicken with homemade BBQ sauce. I got it from Weber’s cookbook and it turned out pretty good. It was for a whole chicken cut in half and cooked on the grill. I got the mesquite chips from Lowe’s because that’s where all good food comes from. But the recipe called for granulated garlic and onion. Here in PA farm country we don’t like that spicy food so we don’t carry it. I used minced instead, and it tasted okay to me. The directions said to use indirect heat, which looks like this:

And then it said to close the lid and let it cook for an hour and fifteen minutes. Remember what happens to chicken when I close the lid on the gas grill? Me too. At this point I’m scared because it’s almost 7:00pm and I’m just now making dinner and if it’s Chernobyl Chicken we’re eating it anyway. Then the spices on the skin turn this really encouraging shade of black, and I’m checking to see if Papa John’s is still on speed dial. But as it turns out this method of grilling chicken wasn’t all that bad. The drumsticks and wings dried out a bit (the kids eat those parts, so who cares?), but the breast and thighs were very juicy. Who knew? Just cut the bird in half and toss it on the grill. Karen said she could taste the mesquite smoke, but I wasn’t really sure what that tastes like, so I don’t know. But it did taste better than it looked.

Karen can vouch for me (this is the point where Karen speaks up and vouches for me).

Actions

Information

3 responses

28 05 2008
Dawn

I don’t think anybody likes you anymore, Mark. Either that or they are too afraid of you virtually flipping them off to dare to post a comment.

The chicken looks good. The Chernobyl Chicken was a much better story, however. You really need to get back to ruining stuff. Successes are not good tv. Just ask Gordon Ramsay.

28 05 2008
mark - in my own defense

Yes, well, I can say it was good, but notice Karen never really backed my story. And that after I spent a whole dollar on her for our anniversary.

24 03 2009
Jay

You might try the upper rack next time to help reduce that charred exterior. Get the food as far away from your fire as possible. How high was your heat?

PS…granulated garlic and onion are not “spicy”. LOL

Leave a Reply

