Guest Contributor: Book review by an 8-year-old

2 08 2008

I love Children’s fiction.  I love the Harry Potter books, I like Cornelia Funke, and I even read (and enjoyed) Eragon, even though the author was 17 years old when he wrote it.  And I’m thrilled that Isaac and Jonathan are getting old enough that we can start reading these stories together.  Last year I read James and the Giant Peach to them and we all had a great time.

I read The Tale of Despereaux last year (by myself), and while it had some suspense, I didn’t think it too scary for an 8-year old.  So I put it on the shelf and saved it for this summer.  After school let out I read it as a bedtime story to the now 8-year-old Isaac and 5-year-old Jonathan, and they begged for it every night.  I liked the fact that the author uses “big” words in the book.  Words like “perfidy.”  I’m not sure I knew what it meant before I read this book either.  I asked “Do you know what that word means?  What do you think it means?” a lot.

Here’s Isaac’s review:

My dad read me and my brother the Tale of Despereaux.  It is a story about a small mouse who saves a princess.  I think all my friends should read it too!  My favorite part is when Despereaux eats some soup.

Not bad for his first book review.

NEWS FLASH: During my search for links about the book I discovered that it’s being made into a movie, due out this Christmas.  Way cool.

Actions

Information

2 responses

2 08 2008
Lauren

Books where the characters eat soup are gold! Tell Isaac I’m going to read it because he recommended it. 🙂

6 08 2008
mark

I cannot tell a lie…I had no idea what perfidy meant…nor do I think I would ever use it in a real sentence. I don’t even think I could correctly.

Leave a Reply

