Some love for milk chocolate

15 02 2009

There are levels to being a chocoholic.  Karen has her favorites, but she lies says that any chocolate will do.  I know better. 

make enough for seconds or she'll eat yours too

There was an article in Food & Wine magazine which mentioned that a lot of pastry chefs, as well as chocoholics, only love dark chocolate.  The bitterer the better.  Karen can be counted among them.  She views milk chocolate as unfit for consumption except in case of emergency.  I, however, am one of milk chocolate’s biggest fans.  So I was thrilled when that same article had recipes for milk chocolate that looked awesome.  I know, this is my second chocolate post this year, but I had to.  Click the link and look at that picture and tell me you don’t want it right now:

Milk Chocolate Pots de Creme (or something like that)

At first I thought it was going to be like the chocolate soup I made earlier, but it wasn’t.  It was way better.  It’s got a custard base, so it’s much smoother.  I’m getting hungry just writing about it.  But the picture in the recipe makes it look like it flows like soup, and if you don’t cook it as much as they tell you to, it may.  But I followed the recipe and it was a pretty firm custard.  That’s not a bad thing.  So the picture is a little misleading.  Really, who cares?

Is this a little more romantic than Karen’s Valentine’s Day gift last year?

Actions

Information

2 responses

15 02 2009
Anna

I am a lover of milk chocolate as well. I LOVE the creaminess of it. Many of my friends are dark chocolate fans and sometimes I feel like I am not “with it” enough and will appear like I am a redneck or something when I tell people that I am a milk chocolate fan. I have decided to get over that fear. 🙂 The dish looks yummy. I would probably ruin it. 😦

Oh, have you tried the cadbury mini-eggs? They are a slight addiction of mine. I allow myself two bags a year. Anymore then that and I will have recovery headaches when they are all gone. I know. I let another pathetic fact about me slip out of the bag. Drat.

Hey, at least I left you a comment! That is worth something right? Beyond the fact that I have admitted that I like milk chocolate AND that I get addiction headaches?

2 03 2009
Michele B

Hey wait a minute I do know one other milk chocolate thing Karen likes – a certain delectable milk chocolate dipped dried fruit – the version found at the Butcher Shop – so she is not that much of a chocolate snob.

Leave a Reply

